The Board of Supervisors is the governing body of Sacramento County and a number of special districts. The five members of the Board are elected on a non-partisan basis to serve four-year terms and there is no limit on the terms that members can serve. Each is elected​ from one of the five supervisorial districts of the County. Supervisors from Districts 1, 2 and 5 are elected in gubernatorial election years (2018, 2022, etc.) while supervisors from Districts 3 and 4 are elected in presidential election years (2020, 2024, etc.). District boundaries are adjusted after every federal census to equalize district population.

The Board utilizes many citizen committees and commissions to aid them in governing county operations. Vacancies are noticed on the Board meeting agendas and posted at the main library and all branch libraries. Contact the Clerk’s Office at (916) 874-5451 or ​

Share This